Gluten Free Grains

The following is a list of grains and their products which are suitable to be included a gluten free diet. 

Corn

Cornflour made from corn or maize

Corn-based breakfast cereals

Polenta

Unflavoured popcorn

Taco shells, unflavoured corn chips

 

Rice

Rice

Plain rice noodles

Rice flour

Rice breakfast cereals

Baby rice cereals

Rice bran

Plain rice crackers / cakes

 

Other Grains & Flours

Sago

Wild rice

Buckwheat

Tapioca

Arrowroot

Potato flour

Amaranth

Millet

Flours made from Legumes

Soy flour

Yellow split pea flour

Chickpea flour

 

A gluten free diet can be low in fibre as many of the alternative flours are lower in fibre than wholemeal wheat varieties. Higher fibre flour alternatives include:

  • flours from soy, buckwheat, chickpeas, rice bran
  • grains such as amaranath, buckwheat, millet, brown rice
  • fruit and vegetables.

There is an increasing range of gluten free products available made from potato flour, rice flour, buckwheat and soy flour.